All 77 Oklahoma Counties Under Burn Ban Issued By Governor

Wednesday, August 3rd 2011, 3:15 pm
By: News On 6

Russell Hulstine,

OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma -- Governor Mary Fallin has expanded the ban on outdoor burning to all of Oklahoma's 77 counties.

In an Executive Proclamation issued August 3, 2011, the 45-county burn ban that was put in place on July 14, 2011 now includes the entire state as the extreme to excessive drought conditions continue to worsen.

7/14/2011 Related Story: Oklahoma Governor Issues 45-County Burn Ban

"We have just experienced the hottest July on record," Mary Fallin said. "The predictions of unrelenting extreme heat with no relief in sight make the statewide burn ban necessary."

Oklahoma Forestry Services -- a division of the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry -- report increased fire activity across the state.

Firefighter fatigue is also a growing concern.

Gas and charcoal grilling is allowed provided that it is over a nonflammable surface and at least five feet from flammable vegetation.

Unlawful activities under the ban include campfires, bonfires, fireworks and setting fire to trash, grass, woods or other materials outdoors.

Look at the complete list of activities allowed and prohibited under a statewide burn ban.