Only 9 Oklahoma Counties Don't Have A Burn Ban

Wednesday, July 20th 2011, 11:26 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY -- The list of Oklahoma counties under burn bans now stands at 68.  Only nine counties, including Tulsa County have not joined the growing list of Oklahoma counties to impose a halt to all outdoor burning.

On Friday, July 15, 2011, Governor Mary Fallin asked all state residents to pray for rain.  She also issued a burn ban affecting 45 counties most in western and south central Oklahoma. 

7/15/2011 Related Story: Governor Mary Fallin Asks Oklahomans To Pray For Rain

The nine Oklahoma counties without a burn ban are Kay, Washington, Tulsa, Rogers, Nowata, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan and Pushmataha.

See what you need to know about Burn Bans in Oklahoma.

Any person convicted of violating a burn ban is subject to a fine of up to $500 and one year in the county jail or both.