Three More Counties Approved For Federal Assistance

Friday, July 13th 2007, 7:27 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Governor Brad Henry says three more Oklahoma counties have been approved for individual assistance related to recent flooding and severe weather. Henry's office announced that residents on Comanche, Pottawatomie and Nowata counties are now eligible to apply for federal assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing, disaster unemployment assistance and grants for serious needs and
necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs.

Low-interest loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration also are available for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property.

Five Oklahoma counties have now been approved for individual disaster assistance from the federal government. Ottawa and Washington counties were approved earlier this month.

Henry earlier today asked federal authorities to declare 17 counties as disaster areas because of recent flooding that damaged roads, bridges and other infrastructure.

The counties are Bryan, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Hughes, Jefferson, Kiowa, Logan, McIntosh, Oklahoma, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Seminole, Stephens and Tillman counties.