Two OU football players on Jim Thorpe Award watch list

Tuesday, June 24th 2003, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Oklahoma City-AP) -- Two Oklahoma defensive backs are on the watch list for the 2003 Jim Thorpe Award.

Senior safety Brandon Everage and senior cornerback Derrick Strait are among the 37 defensive backs on the pre-season list.

The award is named for Oklahoma native Jim Thorpe and given each year to the nation's top defensive back.

The list will be cut to ten semifinalists in early November, then three finalists shortly before Thanksgiving.

The winner will be announced on December 11th and the award will be presented in Oklahoma City in February.

Terence Newman of Kansas State won the Thorpe Award last season. OU's Roy Williams was the Thorpe winner in 2001.