Johnson wins third straight National League Cy Young Award, beating teammate Schilling

Tuesday, November 13th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

NEW YORK (AP) _ Randy Johnson won his third straight National League Cy Young Award on Tuesday, easily beating Arizona Diamondbacks teammate Curt Schilling.

The Big Unit received 30 of 32 first-place votes and two seconds for 156 points from a panel of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

It was the fourth Cy Young Award for Johnson, who won the American League honor while pitching for Seattle in 1995. The only other pitchers with four or more Cy Youngs are Roger Clemens, a favorite to win his sixth on Thursday when the American League voting is announced, and Steve Carlton and Greg Maddux, who won four each.

Schilling, the co-MVP of the World Series along with Johnson, got two first-place votes, 29 seconds and one third for 98 points.

Matt Morris of the St. Louis Cardinals was third with 31 points, followed by Jon Lieber of the Chicago Cubs with two, and Houston Astros rookie Roy Oswalt with one.

This was just the third time teammates finished first and second in the voting. Johnson gets a $250,000 bonus for winning, Schilling $150,000 for finishing second and Morris $25,000 for finishing third.

Johnson was 21-6 and led the major leagues for the eighth time with a 2.49 ERA and 372 strikeouts, the third most in a season. Votes were cast before the start of the postseason, when Johnson became the first pitcher to win three games in a World Series since Detroit's Mickey Lolich in 1968.