FOUR counties now eligible for disaster assistance

Friday, July 20th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) _ Four more Oklahoma counties will be eligible to receive disaster assistance for damage resulting from severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that occurred May 27-30.

Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Payne and Pittsburg counties have been added to the original disaster declaration, the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced in a news release.

The designation means federal funds are available to the affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities, FEMA officials said.

State funds are available to cover 12.5 percent of the eligible costs, while the local government will have to come up with another 12.5 percent, FEMA officials said. Federal funding also will be provided for the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future risks.

FEMA will announce dates for meetings at which those requesting assistance can get information about applying for the aid.