Thirteen more counties added to FEMA assistance list

Tuesday, February 6th 2001, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- Thirteen more counties were added Monday to the list of areas eligible for federal disaster assistance as a result of winter storms that began Christmas Day.

The assistance to these counties will go to local and state governments, tribal nations and nonprofit organizations, the Federal Emergency Management Agency said.

The new counties are Blaine, Canadian, Custer, Garfield, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Mayes, Osage, Payne, Pawnee, Roger Mills and Tillman. Mayes and Tillman counties already had been designated eligible for individual assistance on Jan. 23.

FEMA provides funds for debris removal and emergency assistance as well as permanent work needed to repair, restore and replace infrastructure damaged by the storms. The federal share of assistance for debris removal is 90 percent and 75 percent for other categories. The remaining costs are covered by the state and local governments.

Federal reimbursement of debris removal at 90 percent has been extended to July 6, FEMA said.

Forty-five counties already have been designated for individual and infrastructure disaster assistance. Six counties are eligible for infrasturcture assistance only and one county is eligible for individual assistance only.