O-U softball team to be honored Saturday

Thursday, September 21st 2000, 12:00 am
By: News On 6

(Norman-AP) -- The Oklahoma softball team will be honored at Saturday's football game.

The Sooners are the defending N-C-Double-A National Champions. They are the first women's team to win a national championship at O-U.

Four players from that team received All-America honors, including Ashli Barrett, Lisa Carey, Jennifer Stewart and Erin Evans.

O-U will also honor 2000 graduate Lana Moran. Moran, a pitcher on the team, was the Academic All-American of the Year for softball and a nominee for N-C-Double-A Woman of the Year.

The Sooners host Rice at Owen Field. Kick-off is set for 11:30.