Oklahoma Municipal League announces finalists for awards

Monday, September 5th 2005, 3:31 pm
By: News On 6

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) -- The city managers of Nichols Hills and Miami, Oklahoma, are finalists for the Oklahoma Municipal League's 2005 Don Rider Award.

David Poole of Nichols Hills and Michael Spurgeon of Miami were announced Monday as finalists for the award, which recognizes local officials who have made long-term commitments to their community.

The group also announced finalists for its Mayor of the Year award.

Mayors selected for the award for cities with fewer than five-thousand people are from the cities of Byng, Bluejacket, West Siloam Springs, Cherokee, Vian, Hooker, Collinsville and Hobart.

Finalists for cities with a population of more than 5,000 are the mayors of Elk City, Midwest City and Jenks.