Inauguration Of OU's 14th President Today

Thursday, August 16th 2018, 4:39 am
By: News On 6

The University of Oklahoma will formally inaugurate its new president, James L. Gallogly, later today.

The former oil executive takes over from former OU president David Boren.

3/26/2018 Related Story: University Of Oklahoma's 14th President Is James Gallogly

The inauguration of the school's 14th president will happen starting at 5 p.m. in conjunction with the new Sooner Convocation, which is the official welcoming event for incoming OU students and their families.

“We are honored to install Jim as OU’s fourteenth president. He is a transformative leader who is already making a great impact on the future of the university and its students,” said Clayton I. Bennett, chairman of the OU Board of Regents.  

Gallogly officially took office as OU president on July 1, 2018.

Thursday's ceremony is happening at the Lloyd Noble Center on the University of Oklahoma campus in Norman.

The school and its Board of Regents says the entire OU community and the public are invited to attend this historic event.