Tulsa County Officials Take Oath Of Office

Monday, January 5th 2015, 11:51 am
By: News On 6

Three Tulsa County elected officials took the oath of office Monday morning at the county administration building. 

District 1 County Commissioner John Smaligo, District 3 County Commissioner Ron Peters and County Assessor Ken Yazel officially began their new four-year terms Friday, January 2, 2015 after privately taking the oath of office. 

Presiding district judge Carlos Chappelle conducted Monday's ceremonial event. 

Tulsa County Treasurer Dennis Semler was also re-elected in 2014, but according to state law, his new term does not begin until July 1, 2015.

Tulsa County's new district attorney also took Monday.

Steve Kunzweiler was sworn in during a ceremony in Oklahoma City.

He takes over for longtime D.A. Tim Harris, who chose not to seek re-election.