Burnett, Jackson and Watts Represent TU On All-Conference USA First-Team

Tuesday, December 10th 2013, 3:20 pm
By: News On 6

Tulsa seniors Stetson Burnett, Shawn Jackson and Trey Watts earned first-team all-Conference USA honors as selected by the league's 14 coaches, it was announced today by the C-USA office.

Burnett and Watts earned first-team honors on offense, while Jackson was Tulsa's lone first-team defensive selection. Sophomore defensive back Michael Mudoh earned second-team honors for the Golden Hurricane. Redshirt freshmen Dylan Foxworth and Darnell Walker Jr. earned C-USA all-freshman team accolades.

Stetson Burnett, a 6'5", 314-pound offensive lineman from Lawton, played both guard and tackle while paving the way for the Hurricane rushing attack this season. Despite missing two games with an injury, Burnett played 663 snaps and graded above 85-percent in all 10 games this year. He had high grades against Big 12 opponents Iowa State and Oklahoma with 97 and 95-percent grades, respectively.

Shawn Jackson is a senior linebacker from Tulsa's McLain High School. He finished his final season with 124 tackles to rank second in the league, including 76 solos, 18.5 tackles for -68 lost yards and 5.5 sacks for -33 yards.

Jackson also totaled a team-best five interceptions and has three fumble recoveries. The linebacker ranks seventh in the nation for solo tackles, 11th for TFLs, 12th for total tackles, 18th for interceptions and 22nd for fumble recoveries. He totaled eight double-digit tackle games on the season and 15 for his career. Jackson set school career records for sacks (23.5), TFLs (55.5) and fumble recoveries (6).

A senior running back from Fairfax, Va., Trey Watts led Tulsa in rushing and had the most rushing yards in Conference USA with 1,329 yards in 12 games. It was the second straight 1,000-yard rushing season for Watts, making him only the fourth player in school history with 1,000 yards in two separate seasons.

Watts concluded the season with five straight 100+ rushing games and totaled eight 100-yard rushing performances this season. He ranks seventh in the country for all-purpose yards, 16th for rushing yards and 18th for rushing yards per game. Watts leads C-USA in all-purpose yards with his 171.4-yard average per game.

Second-team selection Michael Mudoh, a sophomore safety from Houston, Texas, led Tulsa and Conference USA in tackles with 133 stops, while he ranked seventh in the country. Mudoh totaled eight double-figure tackle games, including a season-high 17 stops in the season opener against Bowling Green.

Tulsa had two all-freshmen selections as redshirt freshmen Dylan Foxworth and Darnell Walker Jr. were recognized. Foxworth started eight games at center for the Hurricane and graded higher than 85-percent in all eight starting assignments. Walker played 11 games for the Hurricane, starting seven contests at cornerback and one game at safety. Walker collected 52 tackles, including nine solos, and added eight pass break-ups and four interceptions.

Tulsa place-kicker Carl Salazar and Watts, as a kick returner, also earned honorable mention all-Conference USA honors.




QB – Shane Carden, East Carolina, Jr.

RB – Charles Ross, Rice, Sr.

RB – Trey Watts, Tulsa, Sr.

OL – Stetson Burnett, Tulsa, Sr.

OL – Chris Jasperse, Marshall, Jr.

OL – Cyril Lemon, North Texas, Jr.

OL – Nate Richards, Rice, Sr.

OL – Will Simmons, East Carolina, Sr.

TE – Gator Hoskins, Marshall, Sr.

WR – Justin Hardy, East Carolina, Jr.

WR – Ryan Grant, Tulane, Sr.

WR – Tommy Shuler, Marshall, Jr.


DL – Christian Covington, Rice, So.

DL – Cory Henry, Florida Atlantic, Sr.

DL – IK Enemkpali, Louisiana Tech, Sr.

DL – James Rouse, Marshall, Sr.

DL – Julius Warmsley, Tulane, Sr.

LB – T.T. Barber, Middle Tennessee, So.

LB – Shawn Jackson, Tulsa, Sr.

LB – Zach Orr, North Texas, Sr.

DB – Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, So.

DB – Phillip Gaines, Rice, Sr.

DB – D'Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Jr.

DB – Marcus Trice, North Texas, Sr.



K – Cairo Santos, Tulane, Sr.

P – Hunter Mullins, UAB, Jr.

KR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.

PR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.

LS – Trevor Gillette, Rice, Sr.



QB – Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Jr.

RB – Vintavious Cooper, East Carolina, Jr.

RB – Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech, So.

OL – Jordan Davis, East Carolina, Sr.

OL – Garrett Scott, Marshall, Sr.

OL – Clint Van Horn, Marshall, So.

OL – Josh Walker, Middle Tennessee, Sr.

OL – Mason Y'Barbo, North Texas, Jr.

OL – Scott Inskeep, UTSA, Jr.

TE – Turner Petersen, Rice, Sr.

WR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.

WR – Jamarcus Nelson, UAB, Jr.

WR – Jordan Taylor, Rice, Jr.


DL – Aaron Bellazin, North Texas, Sr.

DL – Greg Hickman, FIU, Sr.

DL – Lee Pegues, East Carolina, Sr.

DL – Khyri Thornton, Southern Miss, Sr.

LB – Jermaine Holmes, Marshall, Jr.

LB – Derrell Johnson, East Carolina, Sr.

LB – Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic, Jr.

LB – Michael Kutzler, Rice, Sr.

DB – Bryce Callahan, Rice, Jr.

DB – Damon Magazu, East Carolina, Sr.

DB – Michael Mudoh, Tulsa, So.

DB – Triston Wade, UTSA, Jr.



K – Chris Boswell, Rice, Sr.

P – Sean Kelly, Florida Atlantic, So.

KR – Autrey Golden, UTEP, So.

PR – Devon Smith, Marshall, Sr.

LS – Josh Cuthbert, Louisiana Tech, Sr.





QB – Nick Mullens, Southern Miss

RB – Jordan Howard, UAB

RB – Aaron Jones, UTEP

OL – Jordan Budwig, FIU

OL – Josh Chester, Middle Tennessee

OL – Dylan Foxworth, Tulsa

OL – Kaydon Kirby, North Texas

OL – Michael Selby, Marshall

OL – Cameron Tom, Southern Miss

TE – Jonnu Smith, FIU

WR – Isaiah Jones, East Carolina

WR – Tyre'oune Holmes, Southern Miss



DL – Codie Brooks, UTSA

DL – Jimal McBride, Middle Tennessee

DL – Demetri McGill, East Carolina

DL – Gary Thompson, Marshall

LB – Stefan Houston, Marshall

LB – Nico Marley, Tulane

LB – Dayon Pratt, East Carolina

DB – A.J. Leggett, Marshall

DB – Corey Tindal, Marshall

DB – Darnell Walker, Tulsa

DB – Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech



K – Kyle Fischer, Louisiana Tech

P – Blake Macek, North Texas

KR – Tevin King, Louisiana Tech