Tulsa Public School Board Votes To Appoint New Member

Monday, July 2nd 2012, 10:36 pm
By: News On 6

The Tulsa Public Schools school board voted Monday night to appoint a new member to the District 2 seat.

The school board appointed Wilbert E. Collins, Sr., 71, a former Tulsa County Commissioner.

Collins was voted in unanimously, over two other candidates, who applied for the position.

Collins will take the place of Oma Jean Copeland, who recently resigned her seat, when her term ends in February 2013.

The other candidates were Daryl McGee, currently employed as a City of Tulsa neighborhood inspector, and David Leon DeVille. Both of the other candidates are former TPS employees.

"We would like thank all of the individuals who stepped forward and applied for the District 2 seat," said Board President Gary Percefull. "Mr. Collins joins the TPS board at an exciting time, as the district has made significant progress toward the goals outlined in our five-year strategic plan and education reform efforts are well underway. We enthusiastically welcome Mr. Collins aboard."

Collins is currently retired. He graduated from Booker T. Washington High School and served as the Tulsa County Commissioner for eight years.

He also served 27 years of combined active and reserve duty in the Army, and fought in Operation Desert Storm as a member of the Army Reserve.

TPS's District 2 includes the following attendance areas: Burroughs, Carver, Kendall-Whittier, McKinley, Mitchell, Owen, Sequoyah, Springdale, Carver, Rogers and Washington.