Choctaw Cheers its way to National Title

Thursday, July 28th 2011, 6:02 pm
By: News On 6

Originally Published: Jan 12, 2011 2:44 PM CDT

Layna Dewell
Oklahoma Sports Staff Writer

DALLAS—The Choctaw High School varsity cheer squad was crowned the 2011 National Cheerleading Association’s Large Co-Ed Advanced High School champion at this year’s national competition in Texas.

Not only did the Yellowjackets receive the Large Co-Ed title, but the squad also won the Grand National Champion Title which is given to the squad with the top score out of all teams entered in competition.

More than 200 squads competed in 29 different divisions for numerous titles, and the Yellowjackets took home first place as well as the honors of best use of jumps and best use of partner stunts.

Led by head coach Lindsay Smith, a Choctaw grad and former Yellowjacket and OU cheerleader, CHS blasted past the competition to their second NCA Championship title in the last four years.

“It means everything to them, to practice so much for a two-and-a-half minute routine, and to achieve that among teams from all over the nation it means so much,” said Smith.

In October 2010 the squad also won its third straight OSSAA Large Co-Ed State Championship title.

“For them to be able to not only be a state champion but a national champion that also means they’re the best team no matter size or boys or girls on the squad and they’ve put so much into it, and all their hard work has paid off,” said Smith.

In 2008, after winning the national title, the sophomores set their sights on not only another national title, but on the Grand National Champion Award.

Those sophomores are this year’s senior class, the national and grand national champions, and they have a lot to be proud of.

“Their national championship jackets and rings are something they can cherish forever and be proud of all their hard work and accomplishments,” said Smith.

Coach Smith said at least three of the seniors in this year’s class will be trying out for college squads here in the state of Oklahoma and she couldn’t be more excited and proud of her team.

Members of the 2011 National Champion Squad Include: Callie Batts, Jessica Bearden, Brooke Bradshaw, Bailey Davis, Brittney Dickson, Courtney Drain, Kelsee Egender, Ashley Ferron, Lorin Hite, Summer Hopkins, Ashley Jackson, Cori Johnson, Hayle Johnson, Hayley Kendrick, Kiersten Key, Connor Maguire, Kylie Meazell, Makenna Schaefer, Meghan Thomason, Allie Welch, Kayla Williams, Karlie Barron, Kayla Cox, Madeline Duncan, Cassie Garrity, Cassidy Gierhart, DJ Hamrick, Lillie Kincheloe, Kylee Knight, Kailey Moore, Lexie Rayburn, Kelcie Skaggs, Nikki Strickland

The Yellowjackets are also coached by Monica Williams.