Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame

Saturday, March 3rd 2007, 7:00 am
By: News On 6

EDMOND, Okla. (AP) -- Ten Oklahoma journalists will be inducted into the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame during ceremonies April 13th at the University of Central Oklahoma.

Inductees will include David Dary, the retired head of the journalism program at the University of Oklahoma; Purcell Register Co-publisher Gracie Montgomery, CBS news cameraman Patrick O'Dell, retired Tulsa World Sports Editor Phil Parrish and OETA Network News Manager Bob Sands.

Also to be inducted will be Mike Shannon, managing editor of The Oklahoman; Mike Sowell, a journalism professor at Oklahoma State University; Mark Thomas, executive director of the Oklahoma Press Association, and Joe Worley, executive editor of the Tulsa World.

Honorees are selected by a committee composed of members of the working press, Society of Professional Journalists and the Hall of Fame.

Framed citations are on display in a special Hall of Fame in the Journalism Building at UCO.