13 Oklahoma Water Systems Recognized By CDC For Community Fluoridation

Tuesday, December 22nd 2020, 3:18 pm
By: News On 6


Thirteen Oklahoma water systems are being recognized for maintaining optimal levels of fluoride in drinking water to prevent tooth decay.

Bartlesville and Muskogee's water treatment plants and the cities of Stillwater and Sand Springs were among the cities that received Water Fluoridation Quality Awards. The awards were presented by the CDC which says every dollar spent on fluoride in water systems saves the community $20 in dental treatment costs.

The Oklahoma State Department of Health supports community water fluoridation and recognizes the practice as beneficial to all who drink and use the water,” said Dr. Jana Winfree, Director of Dental Health Service for OSDH. “Preventive dental care programs, such as community water fluoridation, make a real difference in improving the health of Oklahomans.”

The full list of Oklahoma's award recipients are below:

  1. Bartlesville Water Treatment Plant
  2. Chickasha Municipal Authority
  3. City of Madill
  4. Muskogee Water Treatment Plant
  5. Oklahoma Ordnance Works Authority – Pryor Creek
  6. Oklahoma City – Draper Water Treatment Plant
  7. Oklahoma State University – Stillwater
  8. Ponca City Municipal Water
  9. City of Sand Springs
  10. City of Stillwater
  11. Tahlequah Public Works Authority – Lake Tenkiller Plant
  12. Tulsa – A.B. Jewell Water Treatment Plant
  13. Tulsa – Mohawk Water Treatment Plant